Independent Films Dominate with 78 Academy Award Nominations

The Independent Film & Television Alliance (IFTA®) announced today that independent films took 78 nominations in the announcement of contenders for the 89th Academy Awards, resulting in more than 73% of the 107 total nominations in feature film categories. Independent films – those made outside the six major Hollywood studios – dominated with 28 different films earning nominations across 21 feature categories. 

IFTA Members around the world produce, distribute, finance and/or sell many of the world's most prominent films, 22 of which have won the Academy Award for "Best Picture" since 1980.

Below is the full list of the independent films nominated for the 89th Oscars®:

(*Please note, companies listed by name are those Independent companies involved in the film which are also IFTA Member Companies).

Best Picture:
Arrival (FilmNation)
Hacksaw Ridge (Lionsgate / Summit, IM Global)
Hell or High Water (Sierra/Affinity, Sidney Kimmel Entertainment, Lionsgate)
La La Land (Lionsgate / Summit)
Lion (The Weinstein Company)
Manchester by the Sea (Sierra/Affinity)
Lead Actor:
Manchester by the Sea, Casey Affleck (Sierra/Affinity)
Hacksaw Ridge, Andrew Garfield (Lionsgate / Summit, IM Global)
La La Land, Ryan Gosling (Lionsgate / Summit)
Captain Fantastic, Viggo Mortensen (Sierra/Affinity)
Lead Actress:
Jackie, Natalie Portman (Wild Bunch)
La La Land, Emma Stone (Lionsgate / Summit)
Florence Foster Jenkins, Meryl Streep (Pathé International)
Elle, Isabelle Huppert
Loving, Ruth Negga (Wild Bunch)
Supporting Actor:
Hell or High Water, Jeff Bridges (Sierra/Affinity, Sidney Kimmel Entertainment, Lionsgate)
Manchester by the Sea, Lucas Hedges (Sierra/Affinity)
Lion, Dev Patel (The Weinstein Company)
Moonlight, Mahershala Ali
Supporting Actress:
Lion, Nicole Kidman (The Weinstein Company)
Manchester by the Sea, Michelle Williams (Sierra/Affinity)
Moonlight, Naomie Harris
Best Director:
La La Land, Damien Chazelle (Lionsgate / Summit)
Hacksaw Ridge, Mel Gibson (Lionsgate / Summit, IM Global)
Manchester by the Sea, Kenneth Lonergan (Sierra/Affinity)
Arrival, Denis Villeneuve (FilmNation)
Moonlight, Barry Jenkins
Animated Feature:
The Red Turtle (Wild Bunch)
My Life as a Zucchini
Adapted Screenplay:
Arrival, Eric Heisserer (FilmNation)
Lion, Luke Davies (The Weinstein Company)
Moonlight, Barry Jenkins; Story by Tarell Alvin McCraney
Original Screenplay:
20th Century Women, Mike Mills (AnnaPurna)
Hell or High Water, Taylor Sheridan (Sierra/Affinity, Sidney Kimmel Entertainment, Lionsgate)
La La Land, Damien Chazelle (Lionsgate / Summit)
The Lobster, Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthimis Filippou (British Film Institute)
Manchester by the Sea, Kenneth Lonergan (Sierra/Affinity)
Arrival, Bradford Young (FilmNation)
La La Land, Linus Sandgren (Lionsgate / Summit)
Lion, Greig Fraser (The Weinstein Company)
Silence, Rodrigo Prieto (Corsan, IM Global)
Moonlight, James Laxton
Best Documentary Feature:
I Am Not Your Negro, Raoul Peck, Remi Grellety and Hebert Peck (Magnolia Pictures)
13th, Ava DuVernay, Spencer Averick and Howard Barish
Fire at Sea, Gianfranco Rosi and Donatella Palermo
Life, Animated, Roger Ross Williams and Julie Goldman
Best Foreign Language Film:
Land of Mine, Denmark (Nordisk Films A/S)
A Man Called Ove, Sweden (Nordisk Films A/S)
Tanna, Australia
The Salesman, Iran
Toni Erdmann, Germany
Film Editing:
Arrival, Joe Walker (FilmNation)
Hacksaw Ridge, John Gilbert (Lionsgate / Summit, IM Global)
Hell or High Water, Jake Roberts (Sierra/Affinity, Sidney Kimmel Entertainment, Lionsgate)
La La Land, Tom Cross (Lionsgate / Summit)
Moonlight, Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon
Sound Editing:
Arrival, Sylvain Bellemare (FilmNation)
Deepwater Horizon, Wylie Stateman and Renee Tondelli (Summit)
Hacksaw Ridge, Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright (Lionsgate / Summit, IM Global)
La La Land, Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan (Lionsgate / Summit)
Sound Mixing:
Arrival (FilmNation)
Hacksaw Ridge (Lionsgate / Summit, IM Global)
La La Land (Lionsgate / Summit)
Production Design:
Arrival (FilmNation)
La La Land (Lionsgate / Summit)
Original Score:
Jackie, Mica Levi (Wild Bunch)
La La Land, Justin Hurwitz (Lionsgate / Summit)
Lion, Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka (The Weinstein Company)
Moonlight, Nicholas Britell
Original Song:
La La Land, “Audition” (The Fools Who Dream) (Lionsgate / Summit)
La La Land, “City of Stars” (Lionsgate / Summit)
Jim: The James Foley Story, “The Empty Chair”
Makeup and Hair:
A Man Called Ove, Eva von Bahr and Love Larson (Nordisk Films A/S)
Costume Design:
Florence Foster Jenkins, Consolata Boyle (Pathé International)
Jackie, Madeline Fontaine (Wild Bunch)
La La Land, Mary Zophres (Lionsgate / Summit)
Visual Effects:
Deepwater Horizon (Summit)


About The Independent Film & Television Alliance®

The Independent Film & Television Alliance (IFTA®) is the global trade association of the independent motion picture and television programming industry. Headquartered in Los Angeles, IFTA represents and provides significant entertainment industry services to more than 125 member companies from 20 countries, consisting of independent production and distribution companies, sales agents, television companies, studio-affiliated companies, and financial institutions engaged in content finance. Collectively, IFTA Members produce more than 400 independent films and countless hours of television programming each year and generate more than $4.5 billion in distribution revenues annually. As the voice and advocate for the independent film and television industry worldwide, the Alliance speaks out on matters of critical importance and, where appropriate, actively lobbies governments around the world in regard to measures directly affecting the independent industry. For more information on IFTA, please visit